top of page
Grassroots Organizer | Tea Aficionado 
SNAP recipient who desires communities to be informed with facts, equipped, empowered and mobilized.

Recent Posts

Archive

Food Stamps: Origin

I never thought I would be on "welfare". I worked a full-time job and paid my bills. I could make it on my own. However, a monthly grocery budget of only $50 kept me from eating as healthy as I knew was necessary.

I work a full-time job as an AmeriCorps VISTA, often putting in more than 40 hours a week. AmeriCorps is a national program dedicated to living alongside those in poverty and working with the community to address and transform how organizations meet the needs of those who are often marginalized. Part of being an AmeriCorps VISTA (Volunteer in Service to America) is taking on the lifestyle of those we serve with the aim of giving us volunteers a perspective which will help us be more effective in how we engage our clients, while cutting costs.

Our living stipend is based on the local poverty threshold. For my year of service, I will make around $11,500 before taxes.

Talk about budgeting!

I made it a few months into my year-long term before I applied for SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program) benefits. Through some logistical delays, it took about two months for me to receive the EBT card (looks like a debit card) which is automatically reloaded every month.

I have now had my SNAP benefits for about three months and have seen the advantages of a more holistic diet from my hair, skin, and nails!

I still shop food sales, and the amounts I will eat. However, instead of only being able to purchase one container of berries or bag of apples for the week, I can now buy multiple types of produce!

bottom of page