top of page
Grassroots Organizer | Tea Aficionado 
SNAP recipient who desires communities to be informed with facts, equipped, empowered and mobilized.

Recent Posts

Archive

Blueberry Pancakes

When it is a cold and weary day there is nothing better than a batch of blueberry pancakes! And the best thing is that the leftovers can be toasted for breakfast during the week!

My recipe called for buttermilk. Since I didn't have any on hand, I added 1 Tbs of vinegar to the 1 C of milk and let it sit for about 10 minutes.

I sifted the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in one dish.

Then beat the egg, milk, butter, and sugar together. (Since I don't have a microwave, I melted the butter in my frying pan with a little extra to coat the pan)

I combined the dry and wet mixtures together until it was mixed but still a little lumpy.

Scooped onto the heated pan using 1/4 cup measure and put quickly put blueberries into the batter.

Turn over when golden brown, brown the other side and serve!

I top mine with peanut butter and fresh fruit. Yogurt is also a plus, or whipped cream.

Recipe:

1 C. Flour

1 1/8 t. Baking Powder

1/4 t. Baking Soda

1.4 t. Salt

1 Egg

2 Tbs. Sugar

1 C. Buttermilk (or 1 C. Milk with 1 Tbs. Vinegar)

2 Tbs. Butter, melted and a little for coating the frying pan

1/2 C. Blueberries (fresh or frozen)

1. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

2. In a separate bowl, beat egg, buttermilk, butter, and sugar.

3. Stir in dry ingredients until mixed but still lumpy.

4. In 1/4 cup increments, place on heated and butter-coated frying pan or griddle.

5. Immediately place blueberries in cooking batter.

6. Cook until golden brown, and flip

Makes 10 medium sized pancakes

bottom of page