top of page
Grassroots Organizer | Tea Aficionado 
SNAP recipient who desires communities to be informed with facts, equipped, empowered and mobilized.

Recent Posts

Archive

A Typical Day- An Inside Look into Poverty


I work a 40 hour workweek, yet I still fall under the poverty

threshold. Just like many of you, I get up early in the morning, get ready for the day, and head to work.

I work as a disaster resilience officer, connecting community members to local resources in times of disaster and emergencies. I then work with organizations, local emergency management, and the National Weather Service to better engage with diverse community members and respond to their needs.

After work, I can be found hanging out with friends or heading up a literacy program for at-risk kids. It's a full day, I may have one night a week without something to do. Since I don't have internet, it's not much of a loss. Although I had thought about taking on a part-time job, my priority is to serve in my full-time job and the neighborhood.

bottom of page